For drivers who aren’t yet 21, New Jersey’s DWI statute casts a much wider net than it does for drivers of legal drinking age.
As a 19-year-old, a blood alcohol reading of between .01 – .79 is enough to get you charged with underage DWI.
At this level, your license can be suspended for as long as 90 days, you can face up to a month of community service, and you’ll be detained by the IRDC, with all the attendant fines and fees that go with it.
Underage drivers who blow .08 or higher are looking at a 30 day jail sentence, and a license suspension that can go as long as 12 months, depending on the recorded BAC.
In addition, you’ll be staying at IRDC for 24-48 hours and facing thousands of dollars in fines and surcharges.
You can fight back against a DWI in New Jersey. There are dozens of defenses and every case has multiple strategies to minimize your exposure to risk.
Call attorney Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9660 for a free consultation with one of New Jersey’s most experienced DWI defense attorneys.