Yes, the statutory blood alcohol content (BAC) limit for drivers who are under 21 years of age in New Jersey is .01%, so any recorded level above that is subject to prosecution.
This can be devastating for young drivers, who are especially prone to punitive action from insurance companies, and may make auto insurance unaffordable or even unavailable to them for years to come.
The penalties you’ll face if convicted include a license suspension as long as 90 days, up to 30 days of community service, participation in alcohol education through a state Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, and fines.
A DWI arrest in New Jersey is embarrassing and stressful, but you have to keep in mind that there are valid defenses against conviction.
Attorney Matthew Reisig has successfully defended more than 1,001 DWI clients all across New Jersey.
Call him today at 732-625-9660 for a free consultation that can make the difference in your case.