An individual convicted of a first offense with a Blood Alcohol Content (B.A.C.) of .15% or higher, the municipal court judge is required to sentence the person to use an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) after they served their mandatory suspension period. If a first offender is convicted with a B.A.C. of less than .15% or […]
An Ignition Interlock Devise is an additional penalty imposed by the court for certain 1st DWI offenses, all 2nd DWI offenses, all 3rd or subsequent DWI offenses – and all Refusal offenses. It is a device that the person convicted must have installed in the vehicle that they principally operate and that person must blow […]
New Jersey does not have a hardship licenses for those individuals convicted of DWI. New Jersey has never criminalized DWI. Therefore, we have always had among the harshest DWI penalties of any state in the country. That is why an individual convicted of DWI in New Jersey will have a mandatory loss of license associated […]
The school was not on the street where I was stopped but around the corner. Is there a difference between DWI and DWI-School Zone? There is a substantial difference between DWI, which is set forth at N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, and DWI in a School Zone, which is set forth at N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(g). In a School Zone […]
If I only drive my roommates car? The ignition interlock device is governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.17. This statute was amended on January 14, 2010. This amendment markedly changed the sentence provisions for the ignition interlock device. An individual convicted of a first offense may be sentenced to the ignition interlock device by the sentencing judge. […]
Pursuant to New Jersey statutes, an insurance company can cancel the liability coverage of an insured individual convicted of DWI. Therefore, it is likely that any insured motorist convicted of a New Jersey DWI will have their policy cancelled by the applicable insurance company. These individuals will be able to obtain liability coverage, but only […]
In New Jersey, you will not be allowed to obtain a provisional license if you received a DWI and had your license taken away. If you or someone you know has recently received a DWI charge and has questions regarding future driving privileges, contact the Law Office of Attorney Matt Reisig at 732-625-9660 for a […]
In New Jersey, you will not be allowed to obtain a work license if you received a DWI and had your license taken away. Have you recently received a DWI and are concerned about your future driving privileges? If so, contact Attorney Matthew Reisig at 732-625-9660 for answers to your questions.
For a 3rd DWI, there is a mandatory 180 day jail sentence. However, 90 of these days can be served in an approved alcohol treatment program. Have you recently received a DWI and have questions concerning the possible legal consequences? If so, please contact DUI Attorney Matt Reisig at 732-625-9660 for a free consultation.
It is possible to receive anywhere from 2-90 days in jail for a 2nd DUI offense. However, most 2nd offenders serve their mandatory jail term in New Jersey’s IDRC, the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. If you or someone you know have questions regarding a DUI charge or the possible legal proceedings due to that incident, […]