When an underage driver is stopped for DUI, the rules that apply to over-21 drivers in New Jersey aren’t in effect.
According to N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.14,drivers who are not old enough to legally purchase alcohol can be charged and convicted of DUI if their blood alcohol content is as low as 0.01%.
Aside from the DUI charge, you can also be charged with underage alcohol possession under N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15, and other alcohol offenses.
Penalties on the DUI charge include a 30-90 day suspension of your driver’s license, 15-30 days of community service, participation in the state’s Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) program, and mandatory fines and penalties.
The best solution to any DUI charge is to avoid conviction altogether.
Matthew Reisig has helped more than 1,000 New Jersey drivers beat DUI charges.
Call 732-625-9660 today for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey DUI defense attorney.