The window where a prior conviction will mean being charged with a second offense on a subsequent DWI stop in New Jersey is 10 years.
If you’re charged with DWI twice in a ten year period, you’ll face enhanced penalties as a second offender, including loss of your driver’s license for up to two years, a jail sentence of up to 90 days, and a required Ignition Interlock Device on your vehicle for one to three years after license reinstatement.
A DWI charge is a serious problem for a driver in New Jersey, but a second DWI offense in a ten year period can keep you off the road for years.
You have to fight back if your want to keep your license.
Call attorney Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9660 and talk to an experienced New Jersey DWI defense attorney for free.