Drivers who are caught operating their vehicles under the influence may be facing even harsher penalties in New Jersey if a bill under consideration becomes law.
State Senator Nicholas Scutari, a Democrat from Linden, is pushing legislation that would require even first-time DWI offenders to install an Ignition Interlock Device in their vehicles.
Ignition Interlock Devices prevent a car from starting when alcohol is detected in a sample of the driver’s breath.
Mothers Against Drunk Drivers (MADD), an organization focused on reducing drunk driving, believes that use of the devices has prevented more than 39,000 instances of drunk driving in New Jersey since 2010.
Current law only mandates them for repeat DWI offenders and in instances where a first-time conviction involved a blood alcohol level of .15% or higher.
Scutari’s bill has some sweeteners in it, including a reduction of the mandatory driver’s license suspension of three months to 30 days.
For drivers with a higher BAC, a seven month license suspension would fall to 45 days.
The downside to IIDs is that the driver is required to pay for their installation as well as a monthly leasing fee, increasing the overall costs of a DWI conviction for New Jersey drivers yet again.
The consequences of a DWI conviction in New Jersey can change your life, and rarely in a positive way.
If you’ve been charged with DWI anywhere in the state, call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9660 and talk to an experienced DWI defense attorney for free.