Refusal to submit to chemical testing when police suspect DWI carries many of the same penalties as the DWI itself.
By carrying a driver’s license, or just operating a motor vehicle on a public roadway, the state of New Jersey presumes that you give consent for the testing of blood, breath, or urine when you are suspected of operating a vehicle while intoxicated.
Being convicted of refusal the first time can cost you big. First, the state can rescind your driving privileges for a period of seven months to up to two years.
You’ll be required to attend the Intoxicated Driver Resource Program (IDRC) at a cost of $230 a day.
Fines will run from $300 to as much as $1000, and various other fees and surcharges apply.
Call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9660 to talk to one of New Jersey’s most experienced DWI and Refusal attorneys.