How your DUI will be charged depends on several things. First, how long ago was your previous conviction?
If it was within a ten-year window, you’ll be charged with DUI as a second offense, which results in harsher penalties.
For instance, instead of a possible sentence of 30 days, the judge can sentence you to up to 90 days in jail.
Your license, which was suspended for three to 12 months the first time around, can now be suspended for a full two years.
You don’t have to be convicted of DUI in New Jersey, even if you’ve been convicted before.
Attorney Matthew Reisig has helped more than 1,000 drivers in New Jersey avoid conviction on DUI, and he can help you even if you’ve been down this road before.
Call 732-625-9660 today for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey DUI defense attorney.