People who are under the legal drinking age and are caught driving with a blood alcohol content of just .01% or higher are subject to a variety of DUI penalties in New Jersey.
First, a conviction means that you’ll lose your license for 30-90 days, as well as face a 15-30 day period of community service.
There are also mandatory fines to pay, and completion of alcohol and highway safety courses at one of the state’s Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC).
A bigger issue that will hang over your head for years to come is whether you’ll be insurable, and what rates you’ll pay for car insurance, if you’re convicted of DUI.
Regardless of what you think of your circumstances, an experienced DUI attorney can make a big difference in your case, possibly even saving you from a suspended license, fees and fines, inflated insurance rates, and a DUI record.
Matthew Reisig has helped more than 1,000 New Jersey drivers avoid conviction on DUI charges.
Call 732-625-9660 today for a free consultation.