Police in Lacey, New Jersey faced an odd situation on August 3. Overnight, they had arrested Melony Gilchrist, of the Forked River neighborhood, on suspicion of DWI and took custody of her vehicle, as allowed by John’s Law. Under John’s Law, police can impound a vehicle for up to 12 hours after a DWI arrest, while the drunk driver is generally released to a sober driver, returning later to retrieve their vehicle.
This seem to be more or less the story here. Gilchrist’s car was held after she was released, and fourteen hours after her arrest, she drove back to the police station to pick up the vehicle.
The only problem for her was that police quickly realized that Gilchrist was drunk again. Officers in the station administered a sobriety test, and promptly arrested her for the second time that day, for her second DWI charge in less than 24 hours. She was also charged with reckless driving, and released, presumably to a sober friend. There was no word on the status of either of her cars.
While stories like this have an element of comedy, the fact is that a driver facing one or multiple DWI charges needs a good lawyer to protect them from the worst consequences of conviction. In New Jersey, Matthew Reisig has represented drivers accused of drunk driving for almost 20 years, and helped more than 1,040 avoid conviction. If you’re facing DWI charges in New Jersey, call 732-625-9660 today and talk to a lawyer for free.