No, a DUI charge against an underage driver in New Jersey won’t result in jail time. While not a desirable situation, underage DUIs are relatively common in the state, and the penalties for driving drunk are meant to make a significant impression on your young driver.
Specifically, your child will lose their license for up to 90 days, face fines that can run into the hundreds of dollars or more, be sentenced to 15 – 30 days of community service, and will be required to participate in an alcohol education program at one of the state’s Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers.
If your child is facing DUI charges in New Jersey, you should know that an experienced DUI attorney can help minimize their exposure to long term consequences like increased insurance rates and the risk of missed opportunities in jobs and education.
Call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9660 for a free consultation with an experienced New Jersey DUI/DWI defense lawyer.