Underage drivers who are caught operating a vehicle while intoxicated face similar problems that adult drunk drivers do, including loss of license, fines, and programming through New Jersey’s Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers.
There are differences though, both in how a DUI is committed by an underage driver, and the severity of the punishment.
First, a driver under the age of 21 can be charged with DUI if their blood alcohol level is .01% or higher.
This means that a single drink – and plenty of over the counter medications, among other things – will put most teens at risk if they are pulled over.
The good news is that even if an underage driver is convicted, the penalties are relatively light, including losing their license for 30-90 days, fines, 15-30 days of community service, and an alcohol education and highway safety class at an IDRC.
An experienced DUI/DWI attorney in New Jersey can make a big difference in your case.
Call Matthew Reisig today at 732-625-9660 and speak to an experienced New Jersey DUI/DWI attorney for free.