DUI Attorney For Underage Drinking Charges In New Jersey
Underage drinking is illegal in New Jersey, so drivers who are under 21 face a slightly different landscape in DWI law, as one Forked River 17-year-old is learning.
Lacey police stopped the teenage male driver around 10:30 p.m. on March 18, near the intersection of Arlington Avenue and Alpine Street.
Officers Michael Moeller and Scott Keefe discovered the young man, apparently intoxicated, and with an open container in the vehicle with him.
He was taken to police headquarters and charged with DWI, possession of an open container of alcohol in a motor vehicle, reckless driving, and other traffic infractions.
The problem for any teen in this situation is that for underaged drivers, a blood alcohol content of just 0.01% is enough to trigger charges.
Penalties for underage drivers facing drunk driving charges include 90 days without your driver’s license, mandatory attendance at an alcohol and driver safety program, community service, and fines of up to $500.
Your insurance company will also have a lot to say about this turn of events, and if they don’t cancel your policy, you can expect to pay a lot more for the pleasure for years to come.
Fighting Underage DUI Charges With Experienced NJ Attorney
DWI is tough for teen drivers, who are finally experiencing independence, but still prone to making poor decisions.
If your child has been arrested for DWI in New Jersey, talk to an experienced DWI defense lawyer to see what can be done to help.
Call Matthew Reisig today at 732-378-9272 for a free consultation.